Portland Music Awards: March Fourth, Floater, Ben Darwish | Crystal Ballroom

Dandy Warhol action at the Portland Music Awards

[Dandy Warhol action from 2008 Portland Music Awards. Photo by The Mixtress]

The lineup for this year's “Portland Music Awards” has been announced. You can also vote until Tuesday. Here is the latest press release from In Music We Trust about the show:

The second annual Portland Music Awards, which take place January 29, 2009 at the  Crystal Ballroom, have finalized the performance line-up for the night.  The line-up will consist of: March Fourth Marching Band, Floater, Mel Brown with Ben Darwish, Buoy LaRue, Tea for Julie, Aaron Meyer, Idle Poet, Debra Arlyn, Bobby Torres, Echo Helstrom, Acoustic Minds, Keegan Smith, and Morgan Grace.

Voting is currently taking place (vote here) and will be accepted through January 20th.  Winners will  be be announced January 29th at the awards show.

This year's event will be hosted by PDX TV's Chloe Houser and will be broadcast live on the radio and airing on television in February though Comcast On-Demand, including outtakes, special features, and bonus material from backstage and other private areas.

The event will be all-ages, with floor seats reserved for 21 and over, and the balcony for those under 21.  Tickets are now on sale through Ticketmaster and the Crystal Ballroom box office for $25.00 per ticket.  Doors at 6pm, and the event will start promptly at 7pm, kicking off with a performance from March Fourth Marching Band.

The Grammy-style awards show will feature five nominees in twenty-two categories, including Best Band, Male and Female Artist, Radio Station, Music Venue, and specific genre awards for country, jazz, blues, rock, and more.  The nominees are listed below.

2009 Portland Music Awards – Final Nominees

Pioneer Award:
2008 winner Terry Currier
Buck Munger (Two  Louies)
Mel  Brown
Bill McNally (Burnside Distribution)
Alex  Steininger (In Music We Trust)
Tony  DeMicoli

Legends Award:
2008 winner The Kingsmen
Leroy  Vinnegar
Mel  Brown
Paul Revere & The  Raiders
Elliot  Smith

Album Of The Year:
'Slanted  Eyes, Slanted Hearts' by The Slants
'Sense In Tying Knots' by  Tea For Julie
'Posters  Fade' by Derby
'House With  No Home' by Horsefeathers
'78' by  China  Forbes

Band of the Year:
Tea For Julie
Acoustic Minds
The Dimes
The Slants

Best Male Artist of the Year:
Kirk  Duncan
Curtis  Salgado
M.  Ward
Keegan  Smith
Jon  Davidson

Best Female Artist of the Year:
Storm  Large
Kristina  Rae
Debra  Arlyn
Morgan  Grace
Lara  Michell

Best New Artist:
Oh  Darling
Acoustic  Minds
The  Slants
Morgan  Grace
Blind  Pilot

Best Compilation Album of the  Year:
'Failing Records: Volume'  by Failing Records
'PDX Pop Now! 2008' by PDX  Pop Now!
'We Rock For Food' by The  Union Records
'Lights Out 11'by KINK  fm
'Rose City' by  the Rose  City  Project

Outstanding Achievement in Jazz:
Jimmy  Macroulis
Ben  Darwish
Drew  Shoals
Mel  Brown
Tony  Pacini

Outstanding Achievement in Blues:
Peter  Dammann
Curtis  Salgado
Janice  Scroggins
Gunnar  Roads
Papa  Salty

Outstanding Achievement in Classical Music:
Portland Cello  Project
Oregon Symphony
James  DePriest (Laureate music director of Oregon Symphony)
Ron Blessinger (Oregon Symphony, Third Angle Ensemble)
Ryan Heller (Director & Conductor; PSU, SW Wash. Symphony, etc)

Outstanding Achievement in Country Music:
Meredith  Brothers
Travis  Rush
Caleb  Klauder
Huck  Notari

Outstanding Achievement in World Music:
Brothers Of  The Baladi
3 Leg  Torso
Voodoo Mountain Zydeco
Fenbi  International Superstars

Outstanding Achievement in Talent Buying:
Aladdin Theater
Doug Fir Lounge
Crystal Ballroom
Someday Lounge

Best Music Store:
Artichoke  Music
Trade-Up  Music
Portland Music  Company
Guitar Center
Centaur  Guitar

Best Record Store:
Jackpot  Records
Everyday  Music
2nd Avenue  Records
Music  Millennium
Platinum  Records

Best Radio Station:

Best Music Venue – Large (over 1,000  capacity):
Rose  Garden
Arlene Schnitzer Concert  Hall
McMenamins  Edgefield
Roseland  Theater
Crystal  Ballroom

Best Music Venue – Mid-size (over 300  capacity):
Hawthorne  Theater
Wonder  Ballroom
Berbati's  Pan
Aladdin  Theater
Doug Fir  Lounge

Best Music Venue – Small  (299 capacity and  under):
Jimmy  Maks
Mississippi Studios
Someday  Lounge

Best Live Performance:
Storm and the  Balls
Keegan  Smith
Helio  Sequence
Builder and  the Butcher

Best Live Show by a National Touring  Act:
Imogen  Heap
The  Police
Ben  Harper
Bryan  Adams
Chris  Isaak

Multiple award nominees:
Mel Brown – 3 (Pioneer,  Legend, Jazz)
The Slants – 3 (Album,  Band, New)
Curtis Salgado – 2 (Male,  Blues)
Storm Large – 2 (Female,  Live)
Tea For Julie – 2 (Album,  Band)
Keegan Smith – 2 (Male,  Live)
Horsefeathers – 2 (Album,  Band)
Acoustic Minds – 2 (Band,  New)

, , ,

0 Responses to Portland Music Awards: March Fourth, Floater, Ben Darwish | Crystal Ballroom

  1. jesse james January 19, 2009 at 2:52 am #

    what? No Floater nominations???? Travesty.

  2. Smokeandmadness January 19, 2009 at 6:23 pm #

    I can’t believe that Floater wasn’t nominated!!! What the f***???

  3. Mike Richter January 25, 2009 at 7:28 pm #

    Well, I am sorry but I heard about this and am astounded that Portland’s biggest, most consistent rock draw for the last 10+ years is not being nominated. I kind of don’t get it, but I understand the press isn’t too fond of Floater.

Leave a Reply